Osho Books – Discourse Series, English-A

Discourse SeriesDarshan DiariesTranslations from HindiMiscellaneous
Listed in alphabetical order
001A Sudden Clash of Thunder
Talks on Zen Stories, Talks given from 11/08/76 am to 20/08/76 am, English Discourse series, 10 Chapters, Year published : 1977
Content : Osho says that laughter is “the very essence of Zen.” And though the theme of this series is meditation—watching, remaining alert and aware—as the only way to truth, Osho encourages us to, “be happy and meditation will follow.” There is a wonderful chapter on laughter, Hotei the Laughing Buddha and enlightenment: “This is the whole effort of all the masters: to create a sudden clash of thunder so those who are fast asleep can be awakened.” “Osho could keep his audience in thrall, knitting prescient anecdotes culled from various sources.”
002Ah, This!
Talks on Zen Stories, Talks given from 03/01/80 am to 10/01/80 am, English Discourse series, 8 Chapters, Year published : 1982
Content : Through delightfully zany anecdotes, Osho captures and conveys the spirit of Zen’s enigmatic understanding of life. “Try to understand Zen through laughter, not through prayer,” he suggests. “Zen is not a doctrine, not a dogma. It is growing into an insight. It is a vision — very lighthearted, not serious at all.” OSHO uses some of the best known Zen stories to illustrate the nature of enlightenment, meditation, love, knowledge and knowing, man’s misplaced identification with his ego, and other issues very relevant today.
003Ancient Music in the Pines
Talks on Zen Stories, Talks given from 21/02/76 am to 29/02/76 am, English Discourse series, 9 Chapters, Year published : 1977
Content : Of the ultimate realization of Zen, Osho says, “Suddenly you become aware of a music that has always surrounded you… Your heart throbs in the same rhythm as the heart of the whole.” This essential Zen reader is also about a number of other themes — cowardice, boredom and restlessness, recognition and rejection, maturity and moving from the non-essential to the essential.
004A Bird on the Wing
Talks on Zen, Talks given from 10/06/74 am to 20/06/74 am, English Discourse series, 9 Chapters, Year published : June 1976
Content : Using traditional Zen stories and responding to seekers’ questions, Osho shows how man must first be grounded in himself before he can fly into the sky of consciousness. Osho takes the reader from subjects as diverse as food, jealousy, businessmen and enlightenment, to how to know if one needs a master, the barriers we create through fear, and gratitude. Good as a starter for newcomers to Zen.
005And The Flowers Showered
Talks on Zen, Talks given from 31/10/74 am to 10/11/74 am, English Discourse series, 11 Chapters, Year published : 1974
Content : A beautiful and simple introduction for those new to Zen. Commenting on eleven Zen anecdotes, Osho explores the spiritual search, speaking on emptiness and no-mind, knowledge and being; belief and trust, repression and truth; philosophy and religion, love and divinity; death and disease, happiness and living in the here-and-now. “Osho continues publishing very good spiritual texts indeed. These on Zen are direct and whimsical. …Osho has a no-mind to his comments, sudden bursts of insight, novel ways of putting together images so that you read in an enchanted wonder.”
006The Art of Dying
Talks on Hassidism, Talks given from 11/10/76 am to 20/10/76 am, English Discourse series, 10 Chapters, Year published : 1978
Content : In this volume Osho comments on stories compiled by the Jewish philosopher Martin Buber. Osho helps the reader to face the reality of his own death without fear, and thereby living life to the optimum. Originating in Poland around 1750, Hasidim sought a direct, spontaneous religious experience of life, and created a great tradition of laughing saints and wonderful stories. “In a language simple but yet profound, the master Osho indicates the art of ‘dying’ by learning how to live in the here and now, the eternal life.”


Spread the love